Apple Music’s long-awaited collaborative playlist functionality was released with the release of iOS 17.2. This means you may now create and manage playlists with your friends, family, or other music enthusiasts. A road trip with your friends could be an example of a use case. So, to begin, let’s look at how to make a collaborative playlist on Apple Music. On Apple Music, you may either add someone to a collaborative playlist or join an existing collaborative playlist. Let’s see how it goes.
How to Add Someone to a Collaborative Playlist on Apple Music
Simply follow these steps to add someone to a playlist you’ve generated. Please keep in mind that you cannot add someone to an Apple Music playlist. The user must create the playlist.
- First open the playlist you want others to join and tap on the collaborate icon on the tap.
- Now a popup will appear to invite your friends. You can tap on Edit next to your name to edit your name and photo, which will be visible to other collaborators.
- Also, for better privacy, enable Approve Collaborators. This will make sure that only the people you allow can join the playlist from your shared link. Once done, tap on Start Collaboration.
- Now an invitation link will be created. You can copy the link or select the app to share the link with your friends.
- You can also share the QR Code and invite link for your playlist by tapping on the Manage Collaboration icon on the top.
How To Remove Someone From Collaborative Playlist on Apple Music
The one who creates the playlist is labeled as the Owner of that playlist. In a collaborative playlist, only the Owner can remove other members from the playlist. Here’s how.
- Tap on the Manage Collaboration icon and right-swipe on the participant’s name you want to remove.
- Swiping on the name will reveal the Remove button. Tap on it and then select Remove from the confirmation.
- If you are not the owner of the playlist you will have the Leave button in Manage Collaboration. Tap on it and then select Leave to exit from the collaborative playlist.
How to Join a Collaborative Playlist on Apple Music
If someone has shared a link with you to collaborate in their playlist, this is how you can join it.
- To join a collaborative playlist, simply tap on the invite link you received. If the link is in iMessage, you can preview a song by tapping on the play icon and join the playlist by tapping on the Join Playlist button.
- In case the playlist owner has enabled the Approve Collaborators feature (as we showed in the previous section), a pop-up will appear. Simply click on Edit to modify your name and photo which will be visible to the owner. After that, hit Request to Join to proceed.
- Once you request to join a playlist, the owner will be notified. Once they approve your request, the playlist will be added to your library. Collaboration made easy!
Note: If you have an older iOS version than 17.2, you won’t be able to participate in collaborative playlists on Apple Music.
Customize your playlist with ready-made covers or any image of your own in Apple Music to make it look more appealing.
How To Manage Collaborative Playlist on Apple Music
To manage your collaborative playlist, click through a few settings, which allow you to handle various parts of the playlist, such as managing collab requests, updating invite links, and much more.
1. Manage Collab Requests
If you missed someone’s collaborative request, you can check all the requests for Apple Music playlist collaboration by tapping on the Manage Collaboration icon as mentioned earlier. Tap on the red cross icon to reject and the green checkmark icon to accept their request to join the playlist.
2. Stop Collaboration
If you no longer need a collaborative playlist, you can simply end it by tapping on the Stop button and then selecting Stop in the confirmation.
Note: If you stop collaboration, other people won’t be able to make any more changes to this playlist but they will still have that playlist on their Library.
3. Change Approval Permission
If you want your playlist open for collaboration from anyone with your link, you can disable Approve Collaborators by tapping on the toggle next to it. Now you don’t have to accept requests to add people to the playlist. Everyone is welcome though that could be a little chaotic.
Note: With Approve Collaborators disabled, everyone in the playlist can share the invitation link or QR code. Enabling it will limit this to the Owner.
4. Update Invite Link
The invitation link for the collaborative playlist expires in 7 days. To update the link for inviting others, tap on generate a new link (highlighted in red color).
5. Follow Other Collaborators
Apple Music lets you check on other users to see what they are listening to. You can directly follow other collaborators in the playlist. First, tap on the participants below the playlist name and then tap on Follow next to the participant you want to follow.
6. Check Who Added the Song
A small profile icon of the participant who added the song will appear above the album art of the song in the playlist. Also, when you play the song on full screen, you can check the name of the participant who added the song above the song’s name.
create Music Together
Collaborative playlists are incredible, breaking down musical borders and exposing listeners to new genres, artists, and sounds. When users share their favorite tracks, it opens up a whole new world of music for others, allowing them to explore a variety of musical styles and gain a better appreciation for the incredible diversity of the music industry.
- How to Lock iPhone Without Power Button
- How to Wake iPhone Without Power Button
- 11 Ways To Fix iPhone Sound Not Working
- How to Highlight Text in PDF on Mobile
- iOS 18 Devices Check if your iPhone or iPad can run the update